An Enemy of the People

Presented by Guthrie Theater

McGuire Proscenium Stage

818 South 2nd Street, Minneapolis, MN 55415

$15 - $77

Call 612.377.2224
Buy tickets online

90 minutes

Without intermission

Past performances

Saturday, April 28 7:30 pm
  • Preview
Sunday, April 29 7:00 pm
  • Preview
Tuesday, May 1 7:30 pm
  • Preview
Wednesday, May 2 7:30 pm
  • Preview
Thursday, May 3 7:30 pm
  • Preview
Friday, May 4 7:30 pm
Saturday, May 5 7:30 pm
Sunday, May 6 1:00 pm
  • Post-show discussion
Sunday, May 6 7:00 pm
Tuesday, May 8 7:30 pm
  • Post-show discussion
Friday, May 11 7:30 pm
Saturday, May 12 1:00 pm
Saturday, May 12 7:30 pm
Sunday, May 13 7:00 pm
Tuesday, May 15 7:30 pm
Wednesday, May 16 7:30 pm
 
Drama

An Enemy of the People follows Tom Stockmann, a geologist who discovers dangerous water pollution in the Springs, a highly anticipated resort that recently opened in his Norwegian town. In Tom’s mind, the path to a solution is clear: inform the public and close the resort to prevent a crisis. But gradually, he comes under fire – from his brother (the town’s mayor), to the press, to his neighbors and his own family – for wanting to publicize a problem that threatens to destroy the town’s economy and reputation. With ripped-from-the-headlines relevance, this high-intensity drama is a powerful investigation of ambition, integrity and the price we pay for truth.