Venus in Fur

Presented by Great River Shakespeare Festival

Winona State University Performing Arts Center

450 Johnson St., Winona, MN 55987

$10 - $25

Call 5074747900
Buy tickets online

100 minutes

Without intermission

Past performances

Wednesday, June 27 7:30 pm
  • Preview
  • Pay what you can night
Sunday, July 1 7:00 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Friday, July 6 2:00 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Saturday, July 7 7:30 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Wednesday, July 11 7:30 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Thursday, July 12 7:30 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Saturday, July 14 2:00 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Wednesday, July 18 2:00 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Friday, July 20 7:30 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Sunday, July 22 2:00 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Tuesday, July 24 7:30 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Friday, July 27 2:00 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Saturday, July 28 7:30 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Wednesday, August 1 7:30 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Thursday, August 2 7:30 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
Saturday, August 4 2:00 pm
  • Pre-show discussion
 
Comedy

Thomas is a playwright-slash-director, desperately in need of an actress. A young-ish actress. A beautiful-slash-sexy actress. A sexy-slash-articulate young actress with some classical training and a particle of brain in her skull. Enter Vanda. The resulting action is more complex, and more important, than any audition.

Venus in Fur, by David Ives, is a play that has only grown more relevant since its debut in 2010 – a provocative exploration of gender roles and the intricate dynamic of artistic collaboration. The question is: can Vanda trust Thomas to open up his eyes, and see the woman standing next to him?

Contains very strong language and sensual content. Suitable for people aged over 16.